Hello world!

Welcome to WordPress.com. After you read this, you should delete and write your own post, with a new title above. Or hit Add New on the left (of the admin dashboard) to start a fresh post.

Here are some suggestions for your first post.

  1. You can find new ideas for what to blog about by reading the Daily Post.
  2. Add PressThis to your browser. It creates a new blog post for you about any interesting  page you read on the web.
  3. Make some changes to this page, and then hit preview on the right. You can always preview any post or edit it before you share it to the world.
About cynthiamysteryauthor

I am a painter of Narrative Maritime Americana Primitives turned mystery writer. My writing career began as a free-lance local news reporter for a highly acclaimed south of Boston daily. My painting career began in my commercial painter father's studio when he taught me to mix colors at age four. Both parents attended art school and although my father turned to sign design and painting to support the family and my mother got into interior decorating and was the pastry chef for Chillingsworth French Restaurant in Brewster on Cape Cod, their first love was sketching portraits. My mentors, Ralph and Martha Cahoon, renowned primitive painters who settled in Osterville on Cape Cod in the ninteen-forties, sealed my fate as a primitive painter. Living on historic Cape Cod and being addicted to history, I began to tell stories on canvas. Cape Cod Life magazine called my work, "time travel on canvas". A folk art quilt was purchased by the Tokyo, Japan National Art Gallery for their permanent collection and my paintings and primitive hooked rugs are in private collections world-wide. I wrote my first novel (unpublished, of course) at fifteen and since then, have always written. Falling in love with British mysteries steered me into my current bliss. Agatha Christie is the mother of cozies and cozies suit me just fine because I can "paint" the settings and the quirky characters with my laptop rather than paint brushes and paints. I never set my stories in places I do not know intimately. In fact, a foray to Puerto Rico last year to do research led us to decide to escape from Cape Cod cold and snow to the sunny Caribbean this winter and forevermore. Back to Cape Cod to live on our forty-four boat every summer, however. We sold our antique sea captain's house on Cape Cod, down-sized our belongings, move aboard and semi-retired; I to write mysteries and Ken to write an economy blog. Life is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

