Sunday Supper with Snow on the Ground

I have fallen in love with store bought rotisserie chickens.

I recently read, I think it was on Pinterest, that these cooked for you chickens are becoming

Image

popular not only because they are so tasty, but because, all things considered, they are less expensive than purchasing and roasting your own. I do know that for just the two of us, this dear bird goes a long way. First night: home from our late afternoon grocery shopping (late afternoon because we do get rooted to our desks writing all morning. Then, i usually make a few dinner preparations, if only to root out from cookbooks or the internet, a great recipe, and my love always has some project he is working on to putter with. We are A-1, happy as a clam putterers, by the way.

With the  food put away and the fire blazing in the centrally located living room stove, it is time to dive into the still warm bird. (It is the last thing we grab on our way to the check-out so that it stays warm).

Sliced, with a leg for my love and a wing for me (Jack Sprat and his wife eat a chicken)and joined with maybe some rice cooked in chicken broth with parsley, turmeric (good tasting and sooooo good for the health) and any other seasoning that takes me fancy, and a salad, it is a lovely winter night meal. Next night: leftover chicken waiting for inclusion in any one  of hundreds of preparations from a casserole to risotto to chicken salad or sliced chicken and caramelized onions on an open or closed bagette sandwich with mayo seasoned with fresh basil or parsley. And, speaking of caramelized onions, tonight I served second day rotisserie chicken sliced, the other leg and wing going to the appropriate recipients, a huge salad made from field greens, tomatoes (grown in a local greenhouse and sold at the Coop we belong to), cukes sliced thin on the mandolin, feta and Kalamata olives topped with my favorite dressing, 3 T. extra virgin olive oil (know what a virgin is, however, damned if I can know how one gets to be an extra virgin) 2 T. balsamic, 1/2 tsp. honey, salt and pepper and a little squeeze of a lemon to taste. Corn bread seemed like just the thing to round out this easy meal. 
We like our cornbread smoother than the traditional southern cornbread, so I mix it in the food processor. I threw in a handful of walnuts because I like nuts in everything and they are so good for us, then I folded in sliced green olives stuffed with pimentos and a handful of chopped parsley.  Before this, though, I had caramelized a medium sized purple onion until the result looked like chunky syrup. When the bread mix was in the pan, I topped it off with the onions and baked it. Ah, a perfect meal for a winter night in Maine. Bon Appetit.    

About cynthiamysteryauthor

I am a painter of Narrative Maritime Americana Primitives turned mystery writer. My writing career began as a free-lance local news reporter for a highly acclaimed south of Boston daily. My painting career began in my commercial painter father's studio when he taught me to mix colors at age four. Both parents attended art school and although my father turned to sign design and painting to support the family and my mother got into interior decorating and was the pastry chef for Chillingsworth French Restaurant in Brewster on Cape Cod, their first love was sketching portraits. My mentors, Ralph and Martha Cahoon, renowned primitive painters who settled in Osterville on Cape Cod in the ninteen-forties, sealed my fate as a primitive painter. Living on historic Cape Cod and being addicted to history, I began to tell stories on canvas. Cape Cod Life magazine called my work, "time travel on canvas". A folk art quilt was purchased by the Tokyo, Japan National Art Gallery for their permanent collection and my paintings and primitive hooked rugs are in private collections world-wide. I wrote my first novel (unpublished, of course) at fifteen and since then, have always written. Falling in love with British mysteries steered me into my current bliss. Agatha Christie is the mother of cozies and cozies suit me just fine because I can "paint" the settings and the quirky characters with my laptop rather than paint brushes and paints. I never set my stories in places I do not know intimately. In fact, a foray to Puerto Rico last year to do research led us to decide to escape from Cape Cod cold and snow to the sunny Caribbean this winter and forevermore. Back to Cape Cod to live on our forty-four boat every summer, however. We sold our antique sea captain's house on Cape Cod, down-sized our belongings, move aboard and semi-retired; I to write mysteries and Ken to write an economy blog. Life is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

